PokerTips.org Forums

PokerTips.org Forums (http://www.pokertips.org/forums/index.php)
-   Beginners' Corner (http://www.pokertips.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=73)
-   -   Newbie questions (http://www.pokertips.org/forums/showthread.php?t=27738)

Lord Mushroom Sep 19, 2005 7:56pm

Newbie questions

Is it possible to register on a pokersite, deposit, earn their deposit bonus, take your money to a new site and do the same thing there?

I imagine the best place to start such a bonus-exploiting voyage if you only had $50 to deposit is Empire Poker due to high percentage bonus and quick bonus-earning.
If a total newbie to poker (with the brain to learn fast and some day become a solid player) wanted to earn this bonus by playing $0,50-1 limit holdem, how much should he prepare for this by playing for play money and/or microlimits on another site to safely play $0,50-1 limit holdem on Empire Poker without wasting too much of his bonus in losses?

Ozone Sep 19, 2005 8:29pm

Re: Newbie questions

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lord Mushroom
Is it possible to register on a pokersite, deposit, earn their deposit bonus, take your money to a new site and do the same thing there?

Yes, it's called bonus whoring.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lord Mushroom
If a total newbie to poker (with the brain to learn fast and some day become a solid player) wanted to earn this bonus by playing $0,50-1 limit holdem, how much should he prepare for this by playing for play money and/or microlimits on another site to safely play $0,50-1 limit holdem on Empire Poker without wasting too much of his bonus in losses?

Well the 0.50/1 games are pretty soft. I would recommend reading the Beginner and Intermediate articles for Limit Hold'em, found here. Really try to digest what they are saying. Get a good grasp for the game through reading these articles, then let the bonus whoring begin.

You should be able to at least break even before clearing your bonus... provided you don't do anything stupid.