THE FORUMS


German ForumsGeneral DiscussionStrategyFrench Forum
Old Apr 12, 2004, 12:47am   #1
madscout
Brunson
 
madscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Check Raising
Posts: 229
Reputation: 49
madscout is on a distinguished road
Default 2 hand roller coaster.

In my first hand of a $5 sit and go, I have pocket 7s and make my set on the flop. I'm up to about 1400 chips from 800. 2nd hand I get dealt cowboys, raise 4x big blind, next person folds, next person is all in, I call. Here is the result:



Would you call a preflop all in having twice the chips as your opponent and holding KK?
madscout est déconnecté   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Don't like this ad? Register to make it go away!

Old Apr 12, 2004, 4:03am   #2
manutdfan1
Grinder
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 603
Reputation: 22
manutdfan1 is on a distinguished road
Default

Definetly.
manutdfan1 est déconnecté   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2004, 4:46pm   #3
aseyer
Grinder
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 898
Reputation: 8
aseyer is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to aseyer
Default

Especially in a $5 sit and go. That guy could have any number of hands.

There aren't many time I could tell you to laydown KK (except maybe at the final table with 2 people all in before you), especially online, and especially early on in the tournament.

You had an oppurtunity to have a resounding chip leap, otherwise go back to your normal starting position. I'd take it anytime, and so should you.
aseyer est déconnecté   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2004, 12:01am   #4
packattack88
Grinder
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Posts: 674
Reputation: 33
packattack88 is on a distinguished road
Default

No way would I have folded that. I've seen people put in monster raises like 325 in 10/15 blinds in $30 sit and go tournaments with small pockets. Even if the guy has the one hand that puts you behind preflop, you still have about a 20% chance of winning the hand.
__________________
Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies.
~The Shawshank Redemption~
packattack88 est déconnecté   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2004, 6:16pm   #5
Hoss Man
Doyle Look-alike
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 426
Reputation: 17
Hoss Man is on a distinguished road
Default

Tough call. That early in the tourney and the guy bets 700+ versus your 60 chip bet. I would have laid it down. One, because it's too early to know the style of the player (tight, loose, etc), and now instead of you being in the driver's seat with 1400, he's in the driver seat. I also like to at least see the flop to gauge my/his hand.

My thoughts are that you had too much to lose and too little to gain. Granted you would be up 2100 chips versus 700 for the other players, but, as this site says in its NL Single table tourney link, the 700 chips you gain early are not as valuable as the 700 you lose early on in a tourney.

I hope you did well the rest of the tourney.
Hoss Man est déconnecté   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:19am. vBulletin 3.7.4 Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.