THE FORUMS

German ForumsGeneral DiscussionStrategyFrench Forum
Old Apr 20, 2004, 8:35pm   #1
Hoss Man
Doyle Look-alike

Hoss Man is on a distinguished road
Default too tight, too passive?

I just started playing real money holdem online about a month ago. I play the $10 and $25 NL tables. My stats show me winning 65%+ of the showdowns but only 4-6% overall. I fold pre flop 50% of the time and 25% after the flop. I usally start a session with 50% of the table limit.

I can play for 1-2 hours but only show a 50-75% profit. No much for $5 and $12 buyin. I was up double my deposit, but through maybe playing loose or being out drawn, I am back to my deposit.

I usually will lay down J2s, K5o or 44,66 preflop to a 3xBB raise preflop; especially in a longhanded game. I feel that these are not great drawing hands and the low pairs have only two outs to hit the set. Is this too conservative?

I'm a little gun shy after some bad beats, and want to build some confidence, and my account

What are some good bets (% of Pot) to make to try and steal some pots with second hand, or to scare off call stations.
Hoss Man est déconnecté   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Don't like this ad? Register to make it go away!

Old Apr 20, 2004, 9:20pm   #2
meckah
Flop Artist

meckah

Way to loose and passive i would say.
meckah est déconnecté   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2004, 9:24pm   #3
packattack88
Grinder

packattack88 is on a distinguished road

Assuming that you're playing with 8-9 other people, I think that you're playing too many hands. J2s and K5o are obvious folds in most positions. Try to tighten up, and don't be playing weak aces like A7o. Limp in with pockets any time you can, and with hands like 910s as that is a good drawing hand. As far as how much to bet, I usually will bet if there are two cards of the same suit, and I have top pair. Throw in 2/3 of the pot or so to get rid of any flush chasers, and play your hands strongly when you have the best.