THE FORUMS

German ForumsGeneral DiscussionStrategyFrench Forum
Old Jun 28, 2004, 6:49pm   #1
Hoss Man
Doyle Look-alike

Hoss Man is on a distinguished road
Default $.50/1 Limit: Is it me..?

Or is this a good place to regain your poker confidence?

I recently got shellacked in NL with some real bad beats leading to tilts. Then when I rebought more chips, I started playing TOO timid at NL.

So I started playing $.50/1 Limit where the bad beats aren't as tough to take. I noticed a few very important, and good, things.

1) I am winning more hands per hour/session now because I can draw out on them. This is while sticking to standard Class I, II, III.. etc hand strategy.

2) More loose players getting burnt by my tight aggressive play. I see alot more A6s dying to my AJ or AQ when and A hits the board. I have started folding A2o - A9o pre flop, unless I am SB or BB and can see the flop "cheap" and hope for 2 pair. Super tight, I know.

3) Pots are ~$4-$8 average when you do win. So you can still make some decent $$ during a session.

I'm slowly building up my bankroll and confidence again. Hope to be in the black soon.
Hoss Man est déconnecté   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Don't like this ad? Register to make it go away!

Old Jun 28, 2004, 11:51pm   #2
Kazz
Grinder

Kazz is on a distinguished road
Default Re: $.50/1 Limit: Is it me..?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoss Man
I have started folding A2o - A9o pre flop, unless I am SB or BB and can see the flop "cheap" and hope for 2 pair. Super tight, I know.
*Started* folding those? No wonder you lost your money in NL! ;) Seriously though, those hands can get you into a lot of trouble, especially in NL. I rarely play those off-suit except in the blinds, and even suited I'll probably fold them in early position unless I'm pretty sure there will be several limpers and no raise.