THE FORUMS

German ForumsGeneral DiscussionStrategyFrench Forum
Old Aug 01, 2004, 8:57am   #1
Galakanukus
Brunson

Galakanukus
Default my friends suck at poker

I was playing poker tonight with some old friends from high school(the kids I started playing with, but no one advanced much). We played a 5 person tourney. One guy busted out, and I was low stack. I was dealer and I picked up Aks on button. With 8x BB and the limper before me, I didnt think I had any other move but all in. The kid to my left in SB imediatly reaches for his chips, counts them out, pushes them in. The other two players(the better players) fold.

I felt confident in my hand, I figured he had Ax, Kx, or PP with that quick of a call. I flip it over, he yells "Oh shit" and I see the most surprised look on his face. The I cant believe you have me beat suprised look. He flips over 82s of my suit. Before I got the chance to laugh at him, my two other buddies scolded him. His defense was he thought I was bluffing. I guess he wasnt smart enough to know it was the 2nd hand I'd played all night, and the other was trip 4's. The thing I dont get is this kid is smart, he goes to a good school, and we played poker for 2 years in high school. How could he not pick up on the simple fact that you dont call an all in from the best player at the table with 82s.

Needless to say he flopped an 8 and I was out of the tournement getting laughed at.

As a summer job, I;ve been picking up some dough playing poker, and this 82 kid has been the one most against it. He has said I'm not that good, I'm just gonna lose money. Well more than once have i showed him the roll of cash from one nights playing that is more than his 2 week paycheck.

Yet still, on his way out, he says to me that he beat me and I;m the one playing all this poker. But the simple fact remains, its because of ignorant players like this, who wont learn from this clear mistake because he won this time, that I can continously turn a profit.