THE FORUMS

German ForumsGeneral DiscussionStrategyFrench Forum

Go Back   PokerTips.org Forums > Strategy > Limit Hold'em and Miscellaneous Strategy

Old Nov 07, 2005, 11:56pm   #1
peenutz
Flop Artist

peenutz
Default Greetings to all...I'm a newbie here and in Holdempoker too.

I have only been playing since May, and started playing on PokerStars last month for practice. My problem is I have big swings up and down. I can get in a groove for the first 30 minutes to an hour, and then I seem to play really bad, making awful decision. For example, I went from increasing my chip total from 4,573 to over 5,700 in the matter of a day, but I was back down to under 2,600 the same day. Today, I am back up to over 4,100. I notice this happens when I get past a certain number of minutes playing online. I don't think this happens when I play against friends. Is it because I'm staring at the screen too long? I have a theory about Holdem....playing hole cards if they're suited and no lower than 3 cards between them. For example, I tend to call on J-7 suited, but J-6, but I like to play A-10, A-J, K-Q, K-J, only if they are suited, but I think I should throw them away if they're not. My reasoning is as follows. If you have A-10, A-J, K-Q, K-J, and they're suited, you still have all your possible ranking hands preflop, like Royal Flush all the way down to high card. If you're playing K-9, all the way down A-5 suited, the royal flush is removed as a possibility, unless you hit it on the river or turn,
which is a very remote possibility. I subscribe to Roy Rounder's Poker Tips newsletter, and I have Phil Hellmuth's Play Poker Like the Pros book too, but I lent it to a friend.
Is it worth chasing a straight, or other possible hand if it is offsuit, and the cards aren't high cards, like A-10? A straight is a fairly good hand, but 5 hands beat it, and what about overcards?
Do you immediately throw your hands away on the flop, turn and/or river,