THE FORUMS

German ForumsGeneral DiscussionStrategyFrench Forum
Old Mar 30, 2006, 3:40pm   #1
Melon_Ruler
River Rat

Melon_Ruler
Default I can dodge bullets, baby!

I've been playing online poker for over two years, and last night I did something I've never done before...

I folded KK preflop. Sure enough, just as I had suspected, my opponent had AA.

I'm sure you're initial reaction will be that I played the hand too timidly, but let me give you the details.

It was a Party Poker, Mini Step 1 tournament. It was the 6th hand of the tournament, and the guy I suspected of having the bullets had folded every previous hand. I had also folded every previous hand. With one limper, this tight player had raised 3x the BB. I suspected something right away, and reraised him 3x his bet, figuring that he would likely only rereraise a fellow tight player if he had AA. So, two callers and then he rereraises me to almost 3x my bet. I then fold my KK. Someone with AQ pushes which allows me to see that the other guy did in fact have the nuts.

So did I play it badly? Keep in mind, I'm not in the habit of folding KK preflop, and like I said, it's the first time I've ever done it. I just really felt as though he had AA. I ended up finishing 4th and getting a do-over instead of finishing 9th or 10th. Obviously it worked out, but that doesn't necessarily mean it was a good decision. What are your thoughts?

Here's the hand history:

***** Hand History for Game 3849626997 *****
0/0 Tourney Texas Hold'em Game Table (NL) (Tournament 21512922) - Wed Mar 29 22:42:32 EST 2006
Table Mini Step 1 Search No More (Real Money) -- Seat 4 is the button
Total number of players : 10
Seat 1: larry881 (2060)
Seat 2: nTgrlnMLy (1940)
Seat 3: bnjoker (1800)
Seat 4: tradeya (1940)
Seat 5: tgun20 (1840)
Seat 6: TheBigBoss77 (1710)
Seat 7: Eyespy3 (2313)
Seat 8: dbake06 (2430)
Seat 9: djbena80 (1980)
Seat 10: DaleCoop14 (1987)
tgun20 posts small blind (20)
TheBigBoss77 posts big blind (40)