THE FORUMS

German ForumsGeneral DiscussionStrategyFrench Forum

Go Back   PokerTips.org Forums > General Discussion > Poker Stories

Old May 02, 2006, 2:50pm   #1
gorckat
Brunson

gorckat
Default Going deep, MTT observations and the 3am wall

Having blown most of the $100 roll I had at Party due to an unreal streak of SNG losses, I've been playing with the play chips over on Stars until I save up for a deposit there. It's actually most refreshing to not have real money worries and I'm not overly upset about losing $100 because A) I'm a rookie and am probably (ok- definitely) worse than I think I am and/or B) it was short term variance that I simply didn't have the bank to get through and C)it was one of those promotions, so free real money!

Anyways, last night when I logged in about 11pm, I hopped into one of those 10,000 person deals where the top 27 get a shot at $1,000 that was seating. From a practicallity standpoint, I'm well aware I stand a better shot of hitting $1,000 at .25/.50 NL before I win one of these, but I came damn close to the top 27 last night.

It seems the only way to build a stack in these free money deals is to call every unraised flop, which grates against my 'book' taught sensibilities. Whatever. If people want to let my 9h6h draw out to a flush, so be it. I'll take their play money, which is exactly what happened for awhile.

I got really lucky and doubled up a few times when I made a 'bad' call. The hand was something like ATs for me, AQo for the other guy. After the turn, he had hit top 2 pair and I was on flush/straight draw with my ace paired. He pushes and I let stack sizes make my mind for me. I put him on a straight and the math says if I miss, I'm down to 35k. If I hit, I'm up to 100k. Since I was in the top 25 or so in chips and this was before the first break...I figured easy push. If not now, when? I hit.