THE FORUMS

German ForumsGeneral DiscussionStrategyFrench Forum

Go Back   PokerTips.org Forums > Strategy > No-Limit Hold'em Ring Games

Old Jul 26, 2006, 1:09pm   #1
1idjack
Brunson

1idjack
Default LH or SH tables when just starting to play for money?

I've been playing poker for about 2 years. up until recently, the only games i played for cash were the odd home game i'd host every 1-2 months. My competition was pretty soft as i study the game and my friends don't so it's not too hard to win there. anyways, i digress....

forgive this for sounding newbish, but most of my online experience comes from playing play money games. i've built the "play" bankroll to almost 500K solely playing ring games on PStars. now i understand that the competition i face is almost worthlesson the play tables, but for table time without losing the house, it's what i choose to do.

Now on to the meat of the question:

I've played and lost roughly $200 (4 $50 buyins) over the course of 6 months playing the 6way .10/.25 and .25/.50 tables. sometimes i hold my own, but eventually end up going broke. In my ignorance, i assumed that a 6way table would be more profitable as i'd be playing against 5 opponents so the odds of making a hand would be better. I've learned that a 6way table is played differently from a LH table with respect to starting hands. (suited connectors are junk, Paint/9 and up, middle pairs decent). Would it be more profitable for me to play the LH tables as a starting money player? the problem i have is that the blinds come around so fast 6 handed and it seems i get unplayable rags 80% of time. 10% of the time i'll get a playable starting hand that gets sucked out or miss (understandable at the limits) so i'm only winning 10% of the time.

For a beginner, what would be the better tables to play at? keep in mind, my BR would be roughly $50-100. possible play the super-micro limits? this to me seems like it would be little better than play money. Thanks.