THE FORUMS

German ForumsGeneral DiscussionStrategyFrench Forum
Old May 02, 2008, 7:12am   #1
Such A Card
Flop Artist

Such A Card is on a distinguished road
Default Counting Outs

I'm still a beginner and my game so far is $0.25/0.50 Limit Hold 'em.

I've been doing some reading and I get the idea of Pot Odds & counting outs to figure your odds. At least I think I get the idea.

In Miller's Small Stakes Hold 'Em book, he gives a chart of the number of outs you count and the "Break Even Pot Odds."

For instance, if I have 5 outs, he says the Break Even Pot Odds are 8.2 to 1.

To me this means I have a claim to 1/8.2 of the pot. If the bet to me is less than:

$ in pot / 8.2, then it's profitable to call. I'm not getting into implied odds and reverse odds now to keep the question simple.

Am I right so far?

Assuming that I am, my question is what if the flop comes and I count, say 4 outs. 4 outs gives me 10.5 to 1 Break Even Pot Odds. BUTT....I can draw on the turn and river. So how should they really be counted? Should I double it to 8 outs, which would give 4.75 to 1 Break Even Pot Odds, since I have two tries (turn & river) to make my draw?

Maybe this is covered later in the book but I haven't read the entire thing yet. What do the Pokertips gurus say?
Such A Card est déconnecté   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Don't like this ad? Register to make it go away!

Old May 02, 2008, 7:43am   #2
Kyroka
Brunson

Kyroka is on a distinguished road

You will have to pay on the turn again (most of the times), so yes, you have better odds to hit your hand, assuming you see both cards. But you will have to pay twice! Since betting on the turn doubles, you will in fact get a worse price for both cards.

So just look at your odds for hitting on the next card unless someone goes allin on the flop and you can be sure to see two cards.
Kyroka est déconnecté   Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2008, 2:30pm   #3
MmmmBalf
Doyle Look-alike

MmmmBalf is on a distinguished road