THE FORUMS

German ForumsGeneral DiscussionStrategyFrench Forum

Go Back   PokerTips.org Forums > Strategy > Beginners' Corner

Old Oct 15, 2009, 7:13pm   #1
JoshuaSit
Brunson

JoshuaSit will become famous soon enoughJoshuaSit will become famous soon enough
Default Hey guys, trying to understand preflop pot odds

Sup guys

So I'm studying 'A Comedy Of Errors' SnG ebook. There talking a lot about preflop pot odds.

I'm pretty much getting the drift. Ex. the pot is 300 and the bet to me is 60. My odds are 5 to 1.

There is a section About cold calling Raises in multi-way pots in low stake SnG's. How it's not a good idea. I completely understand why. It says an exception is when holding a middle to high pair, bu to make sure you have 12 to 1 odds on at least one opponent. So whats that mean? If my stack is 4800, then one opponents stack should be 400?

Or am I missing the point here?

Thanks Guys
JoshuaSit est déconnecté   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Don't like this ad? Register to make it go away!

Old Oct 15, 2009, 7:30pm   #2
cobalt
Professional

cobalt has a spectacular aura aboutcobalt has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to cobalt Send a message via Skype™ to cobalt

12:1 is related to the odds of flopping a set. If you are set-mining, it doesn't have to be a middle to high pair -- even a set of deuces is going to do great getting it in on most flops.

Back to your main question, it means that if the bet is 400, you and your opponent's stacks should be at least 4800 to make flatting there hoping to flop a set profitable (this is called "implied odds"). But depending on the blinds, antes, number of players left and payout structure, there may be much better plays as well.
cobalt est déconnecté   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2009, 8:56pm   #3
shendo
Doyle Look-alike

shendo has a spectacular aura aboutshendo has a spectacular aura aboutshendo has a spectacular aura about