Poker News
Pot Odds Calculator
Check Your Bets
Poker Glossary
Poker Variants
Offline Cardrooms
Poker TV Listings
Poker Movies
History of Poker
Terms of Use


WPT Season #5: WPT Championship $25,000 No-Limit Hold'em

WPT, 2007-04-28, by Ozone

One of the most important tournaments of the year was held this week at Bellagio in Las Vegas. The World Poker Tour (WPT) concluded its fifth season with a record breaking 639 entrants for the $25,000 buy-in WPT Championship. Scoring a first place payday of close to $4,000,000, Carlos Mortensen made poker history by becoming the first player ever to win the WSOP Main Event as well as the WPT Championship. The win propelled the 2001 World Champion's lifetime earnings over $8,000,000, putting him in 7th place on the all-time list.

Losing heads-up to 'El Matador' was Kansas resident Kirk Morrison. Morrison recently returned to poker following a seven year hiatus. A bracelet winner in 1998, Morrison's second place finish notched him $2,100,000. It was his forth consecutive money-finish in a WPT event.

Rounding out the TV final table were Paul Lee, Cirque du Soleil founder Guy Laliberte, Tim Phan, and Mike Wattel. These players finished 3rd through 6th, respectively.

Poker pro Scott Fischman just missed the televised final table with an 8th place finish. Other well-known players with nice finishes were: Phil Hellmuth (18th), Paul Wasicka (24th), Roland de Wolfe (26th), Justin Bonomo (35th), and Patrik Antonius (52nd).

Season six of the World Poker Tour launches at Mirage in Las Vegas on May 19th. Currently there are fourteen events on the season six schedule.

Return to Poker News

In other languages:

Free Money Offers
Create an account and get up to $88 no deposit required, use our link.

PokerTips Newsletter Sign-Up