Poker News
Pot Odds Calculator
Check Your Bets
Poker Glossary
Poker Variants
Offline Cardrooms
Poker TV Listings
Poker Movies
History of Poker
Terms of Use


NBC Releases Participant List for Heads-Up Championship

Television, 2008-01-22, by Ozone

The 2008 NBC National Heads-Up Championship will be something of a turning of the tide. Many recognizable faces from previous years, such as Chris Moneymaker, Men Nguyen, Carlos Mortensen, and Andy Bloch will not participate in this year's tournament. In their place will be some young players who earned their fame through online poker, as well as a few celebrities.

Perhaps the most successful online cash game player of all-time, Brian "sbrugby" Townsend is slated to play. Other successful young players on this year's list include Tom "durrr" Dwan, Jonathan Little, and Scott Clements.

Former major league baseball player Orel Hershiser, 'Seinfeld' cast member Jason Alexander, and 'Everybody Loves Raymond' cast member Brad Garrett will join Don Cheadle and Shannon Elizabeth as celebrity participants.

Other notable names new to this year's list include 2007 WSOP Main Event Champion Jerry Yang and Daniel Schreiber, winner of last year's inaugural WSOP heads-up tournament.

All three previous winners of this tournament, Phil Hellmuth, Ted Forrest, and Paul Wasicka will return for this year.

Return to Poker News

In other languages:

Free Money Offers
Create an account and get up to $88 no deposit required, use our link.

PokerTips Newsletter Sign-Up