Poker News
Pot Odds Calculator
Check Your Bets
Poker Glossary
Poker Variants
Offline Cardrooms
Poker TV Listings
Poker Movies
History of Poker
Terms of Use

Repeat WSOP Champion?

, 2005-07-12, by Mercy

This year, 5619 players entered the WSOP. Most people believed that an unknown player would probably walk away with the $7.5 million first-place prize.

However, it seems that the unthinkable might happen. Greg Raymer, WSOP 2004 champion, may become the first back-to-back WSOP champion in the era of thousand-plus WSOP fields.

In the past, several players won back-to-back titles, such as Doyle Brunson and Stu Ungar. However, back then the fields were only a few hundred players. Now, a champion must steamroll through a field of thousands of entrants.

There is still a lot of tournament poker to be played. However, with under 180 players left in the main event, Greg Raymer currently holds the chip lead with around 1.5 million chips.

Return to Poker News

Free Money Offers
Create an account and get up to $88 no deposit required, use our link.

PokerTips Newsletter Sign-Up