THE FORUMS

German ForumsGeneral DiscussionStrategyFrench Forum

Go Back   PokerTips.org Forums > General Discussion > Poker Stories

Old Apr 13, 2006, 5:29pm   #1
SidMaynard
Too tired for poker

SidMaynard
Default Realising your are on tilt - a confessional

Ok, so I've been playing for about 6 months now, and really starting to feel like I'm turning into an ok player. I've cashed out a few times and built a nice bankroll of about 25 buy-ins at $25NL.

A few weeks ago I joined Bodog to take advantage of their sign-up bonus. Everything was going great, I cleared the $100 bonus in three weeks and had won about $200 on the tables. I was playing well, winning big pots with my big hands, making some good steals, throwing in a few bluffs, winning with my c-bets, drawing out with good odds. Life was preeety good.

This week the world turned upside down. Suddenly I'm at the wrong end of a violent downswing and down 6 buy-ins.

How did that happen?

It all started at a ring table a couple of days ago. I had been playing well and had doubled my buy-in. Then the table went shorthanded, and one of the players turned into a maniac. I always have problems playing super aggressives, and true to form he was pushing everyone around making big bets on every street. Just as I was thinking it was time to move and was looking in the lobby for a full table I hit a good hand.

Everyone limped in, including me with A6o. Flop hits A46 rainbow. I'm first to go, so I check knowing the maniac will bet. He does, I raise him about 1/5 times his bet. Turn brings a 2. I bet about half the pot, he raise for about 2/3 of my stack. I push all-in. He turns over 35s for a str8.

Ok, so looking back I can see my mistake. I gave him odds for the str8 draw and should have pushed on the flop. But he had got to me and I wanted all his chips, so greed made me slow play and there is todays lesson.

No big deal I thought, I can see my mistake - learn it and move on.