PokerTips.org - Poker Strategien - Omaha Hi/Lo Strategy
chessknight
Limit Hold'em:
1. Longhand Limit
2. Shorthand Limit
3. Erweiterte Shorthand

No-Limit Hold'em:
1. Einführung in NL
2. Erweitertes NL
3. Wer ausbezahlt wird
4. Chipstapel
5. Double Hold'em

Omaha:
1. Einführung in Omaha
2. Low Limit Omaha
3. Einführung in PLO
4. Omaha Hi/Lo

Turniere:
1. Turnier Überblick
2. Single-Table NL
3. Erweiterte NL STTs
4. Multi-Table NL
5. Multi-Table Limit
6. Turnier Varianten
7. Knockout Turnier Strategien
8. Ante Up Turniere

Geld Management:
1. Limits wechseln
2. Wann man aufören sollte
3. Kurzfristig vs. Langfristig

Weitere:
1. Fortgeschrittene Anfängerfehler

Andere sprachen:



Omaha Hi/Lo Strategy
POKER STRATEGIEN

Besten Plätze zum Turnier spielen
Raum Gesamtnote Bonus Code
Bis zu $600 STARS600
Bis zu $1500 BF1500
$8 Gratis Use Our Link
100% bis zu $500 TIPS500
Omaha Hi/Lo 8 oder besser ist zurzeit das populärste Split-Pott Pokerspiel der Welt. Bevor man beginnt Omaha Hi/Lo zu spielen, ist es sehr wichtig das man die Regeln von Omaha verstanden hat. Obwohl Omaha und Texas Hold'em sehr ähnliche Pokervarianten sind, haben viele neue Spieler Probleme damit daran zu denken, dass man zwei von den vier Karten auf der Hand benutzen MUSS, um das beste Blatt zu bilden.

Die Omaha Hi/Lo Regeln sind die gleichen Regeln wie die von Omaha Hi, abgesehen davon, dass der Pott in einen Hi- und einen Lo-Pott geteilt wird. Hi steht für high bzw. hoch und Lo steht für low bzw. niedrig. Den Hi-Pott bekommt also der, der das höchste bzw. beste Blatt hat und den Lo-Pott bekommt der, der das niedrigste Blatt hat, wobei das Lo-Blatt keine Karte höher als acht enthalten darf. Gibt es kein Lo-Blatt, dann bekommt der Gewinner des Hi-Blattes den ganzen Pott.

Ziel von Omaha Hi/Lo ist es den ganzen Pott zubekommen. Natürlich ist es besser den halben Pott zu gewinnen als nichts, aber den größten Gewinn bei diesem Spiel macht man in dem man den gesamten Pott gewinnt. Um effektiv Potts zu gewinnen muss man verstehen wie man die Lo-Hände gewinnt und welche Startblätter besser sind als andere.

Das Lo-Blatt

Vielen neuen Omaha Hi/Lo Spielern fällt es schwer das niedrigstmögliche Blatt zu identifizieren. Bei diesem Spiel wird das Lo nicht von einem Straight oder Flush beeinflusst, das heißt man kann ein Lo-Blatt haben obwohl man einen Straight oder Flush hat. Die beste Lo-Hand ist eine kleine Straße von Ass bis Fünf. Außerdem werden die Lo-Hände von oben nach unten gezählt, das heißt man zählt zum Beispiel 5432A. Ein Spieler mit 8432A (8 als höchste niedrige Karte) auf der Hand verliert gegen einen Spieler mit 76543 (7 als höchste niedrige Karte). Dies überrascht die meisten Neulinge, da sie instinktiv denken, dass der mit der niedrigeren Karte, also dem Ass, gewinnen würde.


poker888 bonus - 468X60

Wenn niemand eine Lo-Hand hat oder keine möglich ist, dann gewinnt der Spieler mit der höchsten Hand den gesamten Pott. Folgend sind ein paar Beispiele aufgeführt, die das ganz etwas verdeutlichen sollen:

Beispiel #1

Ah3cKh5c
Spieler #1
Qs6s4d2c
Spieler #2
AcAd3s8h6h
Board


Dies ist ein Split-Pott, das heißt der Pott wird in einen Lo- und einen Hi-Pott geteilt. Spieler #1 gewinnt den Hi-Pott mit seinem Hi-Blatt AAA33 (Full House) und Spieler #2 gewinnt den Lo-Pott mit seinem Lo-Blatt 6432A. In diesem Beispiel hat Spieler #2 das bestmögliche Lo-Blatt. Das Lo-Blatt von Spieler #1 ist 8653A. Spieler #1 würde A5 von seiner Hand benutzen und 368 vom Board. Er könnte aber auch 35 von seiner Hand benutzen und A68 vom Board.

Beispiel #2

As2sQh8h
Spieler #1
Jd6d3c2c
Spieler #2
7s5s4hAcJd
Board


Spieler #1 hat mit dem Flop (754) the nut-low (7542A, das zurzeit bestmögliche Lo-Blatt) bekommen. Nach der Turnkarte, dem Ass, hat Spieler #2 jetzt the nut-low bekommen. Spieler #2 hat 5432A, was das Lo-Blatt von Spieler #1, 7542A, schlägt. Zusätzlich zum besten Lo-Blatt, hat Spieler #2 mit seiner Straße (A2345) auch das beste Hi-Blatt bekommen und gewinnt somit den ganzen Pott.

Beispiel #3

AhKcQdJs
Spieler #1
KhJh7c2c
Spieler #2
Ts9d8s5h4c
Board


Mit dem Flop hat Spieler #1 das beste Blatt und Spieler #2 nur das zweitbeste Blatt bekommen. Spieler #1 verwendet für seine Straße QJ und Spieler #2 verwendet J7. Spieler #2 befindet sich zurzeit in einer schlechten Ausgangssituation.

Spieler #2 hat aber Glück und bekommt mit der Turn- und Riverkarte noch ein Lo-Blatt. Er verwendet von seiner Hand 72 und vom Board 854. In diesem Beispiel haben Spieler #2 zwei "magische" Karten viel Geld gerettet, als er sein zweitbestes Hi-Blatt in das beste Lo-Blatt verwandeln konnte und somit der Pott geteilt wurde. Dieses Beispiel soll deutlich machen wie wichtig es ist zwei niedrige Karten auf Hand zu haben, um ein Lo-Blatt bilden zu können.

Beispiel #4

AhAcQdQs
Spieler #1
Ad2c3c4d
Spieler #2
KdKcQh5s6h
Board


In diesem Beispiel gewinnt Spieler #1 den gesamten Pott mit seinem Full House (KKQQQ), da es kein Lo-Blatt gibt. In der Mitte befinden sich nur zwei von benötigten drei niedrigen Karten für ein Lo-Blatt. Es ist also kein Lo-Blatt möglich. Denkt daran, dass man zwei Karten von der eigenen Hand und drei Karten vom Board benutzen MUSS, um das beste Blatt zu bilden. Es sieht zwar so aus, als ob Spieler #2 ein Lo-Blatt hat, aber dafür müsste er drei seiner eigenen Karten verwenden und das ist nicht erlaubt.

Startblätter

Bei Omaha Hi/Lo ist es wichtig, dass man ein Startblatt hat mit dem man den gesamten Pott, also Lo und Hi, gewinnen kann. Das bedeutet, dass Startblätter die sich für Omaha Hi eignen, wie zum Beispiel AKQJ oder JT98, an Bedeutung verlieren, da sie keine Lo-Blätter bilden können.

Allgemein kann man sagen, dass der tighteste (vorsichtigste) Spieler bei Omaha Hi/Lo auch meistens der Gewinner am Tisch ist. Die Auswahl der Startblätter spielt eine so große Rolle, dass Geduld die vielleicht wichtigste Eigenschaft beim Spiel ist. Startblätter wie A49T verlocken zum spielen, aber man läuft Gefahr schnell das zweitbeste Lo-Blatt zubekommen.

Das beste Omaha Hi/Lo Startblatt ist AA23 mit zwei Suits (zum Beispiel Herz und Pik oder Pik und Kreuz). Weitere sehr gute Startblätter sind: A234, AAxx, A2xx, A345, A36K, 2345 und KQ23. Die meisten Omaha Hi/Lo Spieler achten sehr genau darauf wie soft sie A3xx spielen, da auch diese Blatt dazu neigt das zweitbeste Lo-Blatt zu werden.

Es ist wichtig zu realisieren welche Rolle das Ass bei Omaha Hi/Lo spielt. Das ist die beste Karte für das obere und das untere Ende. Es ist die Schlüsselkarte um das beste Lo-Blatt zu bekommen und spielt natürlich auch für das Hi-Blatt eine sehr wichtige Rolle (z.B. als Kicker). Viele bekannte Profilspieler, wie zum Beispiel Scotty Nguyen, sind der Meinung, dass man kein Blatt spielen sollte, das kein Ass enthält. Natürlich ist diese Meinung etwas extrem, aber für neue, unerfahrene Omaha Hi/Lo Spieler, ist dies ein guter Rat.

Die Position in der man sitzt bei Omaha Hi/Lo ist genauso wichtig wie bei Texas Hold'em. Das bedeutet, dass man schlechtere Karten, wie zum Beispiel JJ24, nur aus hinterer Position und wenn nicht erhöht wurde spielen sollte.

Flop Tipps

Wenn man nach dem Flop nicht die besten vier Lo-Karten hat, dann sollte man nicht auf einen Lo-Draw warten und hoffen, dass noch eine Lo-Karte kommt. Wenn der Flop zum Beispiel A5K bringt sollte man nur auf ein Lo-Blatt gehen wann man 23xx auf der Hand hat. Ein großer Teil der Gewinne bei Omaha Hi/Lo kommt von schlechten Spielern, die auf das zweitbeste Lo-Blatt gehen. Auf das zweitbeste Lo-Blatt zuhoffen ist ein garantierter Weg um Geld zu verlieren.

Ein weiterer großer Omaha Hi/lo Fehler ist auf zwei Lo-Karten zu hoffen. Wenn man zum Beispiel A2xx auf der Hand hat und der Flop bringt 8KQ, dann verlieren viele Spieler Geld damit auf zwei Lo-Karten zu hoffen, um dann nur die Hälfte des Potts zu gewinnen. In so einer Situation sollte man, sobald jemand setzt, rausgehen.

Quartering

"Quartering" heißt jemanden vierteilen und ist ein sehr wichtiges Konzept bei Omaha Hi/Lo. Wir betrachten folgend ein Blatt, bei dem jemand nur ein Viertel des Potts bekommt.

Ah3hKs9s
Spieler #1
Ac3cTd8d
Spieler #2
7d4c2hKsJh
Board


Beide Spieler verwenden ihr A3 auf der Hand und 742 vom Board um das gleiche Lo-Blatt zu bilden. Das heißt sie teilen sich den Lo-Pott. Den Hi-Pott gewinnt Spieler #1 alleine, da er ein Pärchen Könige hat.

Spieler #1 bekommt also 50% des gesamten Potts für sein Hi-Blatt und 25% des Potts, da er sich den Lo-Anteil des Potts mit Spieler #2 teilt. Spieler #2 bekommt nur 25% des Potts und wurde somit von Spieler #1 "viergeteilt" (daher "being quatered"). Jemanden vierzuteilen, also dreiviertel des Potts zu gewinnen, ist ein wichtiges Konzept bei Omaha Hi/Lo. Mindestens genauso wichtig ist es zu erkennen, wenn die Chance besteht, dass man selbst gevierteilt wird. Wenn man dies befürchtet, dann ist es wichtig den Pott klein zu halten. Das bedeutet, dass man nicht erhöht wenn der Gegner setzt, sondern einfach nur mitgeht.

Nächster Artikel: Turnier Überblick
 


Kostenlose Geld Angebote
88$
Erstelle einen Account und bekomme bis zu 88$ ohne eine Einzahlung vorzunehmen, benutze unseren Link.
PokerTips Newsletter Anmeldung
Name:
Email:

chessknight
Limit Hold'em:
1. Longhand Limit
2. Shorthand Limit
3. Adv. Shorthand

No-Limit Hold'em:
1. Intro to NL
2. Advanced NL
3. Who Pays Off
4. Stack Sizes
5. Double Hold'em

Omaha:
1. Intro to Omaha
2. Low Limit Omaha
3. Intro to PLO
4. Omaha Hi/Lo

Tournaments:
1. Tourney Overview
2. Single-Table NL
3. Advanced NL STTs
4. Multi-Table NL
5. Multi-Table Limit
6. Tourney Variants
7. Knockout Tourneys
8. Ante Up Tourneys

Money Management:
1. Moving Limits
2. When to Quit
3. Short/Long Run

Other:
1. Intermediate Mistakes
2. Utilizing Promotions

In other languages:


Omaha Hi/Lo Strategy
POKER STRATEGY

Omaha Hi/Lo (8 or better) is currently the most popular split-pot poker game in the world. It is important to understand the rules of Omaha before playing Omaha Hi/Lo. While Omaha is very similar to Texas Hold'em, many new Omaha players get confused by the "must use two hole cards and only two hole cards" rule.

The rules for Omaha Hi/Lo are the same as the rules for Omaha Hi, except that the pot is split between the high and and the low hand. The low hand cannot have a card higher than 8. If there is no legal low hand, the entire pot goes to the highest hand. So the only way a low hand is possible is if the board contains unique cards 8 or lower (Ace counts as low). If the board is [[cards Kd 4d 8h 9s 10c]], no low hand is possible. If the board is [[cards Qh 2s 7d 6d 9c]], a low hand is possible and Ace-Three would be the "nut low".

The goal in Omaha Hi/Lo is to scoop the entire pot. Although winning half of the pot is better than nothing, large profits at this game come from winning the entire pot. Effectively scooping pots requires understanding how to win the low side of the pot, as well as what hands work as quality starting hands.

The Low

For many new players, the most confusing part of Omaha Hi/Lo is determining the nut-low. In this game, straights and flushes do not affect the low. Thus, the best possible low hand is a wheel (5432A). Furthermore, it is important to remember that the low hands are counted from the top down. A player with 8432A (an 8 low) would lose to a player with 76543 (a 7 low). This surprises most players who instinctively think that 8432A wins due to the ace as the lowest card.

If there is no possible low hand (or if no one holds a low hand), then the person with the best high hand wins the entire pot. Let's look at a few hand examples to better understand some low situations.

Example #1

Ah3cKh5c
Player #1
Qs6s4d2c
Player #2
AcAd3s8h6h
Board


This is a split pot. Player #1 wins the high side of the pot with AAA33, and Player #2 wins the low side of the pot with 6432A. In this instance, Player #2 has the nut low which means no one could possibly beat Player #2 for the low, only tie. Player #1's low is 8653A. Player #1 would use A5 from his hand and 368 from the board (he also could use 35 from his hand and A68 from the board).

Example #2

As2sQh8h
Player #1
Jd6d3c2c
Player #2
7s5s4hAcJd
Board


The flop (754) gave Player #1 (who holds A2) the nut-low. However, on the turn, Player #1's nut-low was "counterfeited." This happened when an ace appeared on the turn, which gave all players the opportunity to have an ace for a low. Now, Player #2 has 5432A for a low, which beats Player #1's 7542A. So in this example, Player #2's dream comes true, and he "scoops" the entire pot.

Example #3

AhKcQdJs
Player #1
KhJh7c2c
Player #2
Ts9d8s5h4c
Board


First, notice that the flop put Player #2 in big trouble after he flopped the second-nut straight (with his J7). Player #1 flopped the nut straight (with his QJ), which put him in position to win a nice pot off of Player #2.

However, the turn and river bail out Player #2 and allow him to win half of the pot at the showdown. In conjunction with the board's 854, Player #2 was able to make a low hand with his 72 to win half the pot. Sometimes a miracle low is what can save a player from losing a lot of money with a bad high. This example illustrates the importance of holding two cards to a low (something that Player #1 did not have with a deceitfully weak AKQJ).

Example #4

AhAcQdQs
Player #1
Ad2c3c4d
Player #2
KdKcQh5s6h
Board


Player #1 scoops the entire pot with his full house (KKQQQ). There is no low hand. There are only two low cards on the board, so it is impossible to make a low hand (remember: you must always use three cards from the board!) While it seems that Player #2 has an amazing low hand, he in fact holds no low at all.
Starting Hands

In Omaha Hi/Lo, it is important to hold a strong starting hand. Players need to have a hand that is capable of scooping the entire pot. This means hands that work great in Omaha hi (such as AKQJ or JT98) lose a lot of value in Hi/Lo due to their inability to make a low.

In general, the tightest player at any Omaha Hi/Lo table is likely to be a winning player. Starting hand selection is so critical that demonstrating patience is perhaps the single most important skill to have. Hands that may seem tempting to play (such as A49T) should be folded due to their propensity for making a non-nut low.

The best starting hand in Omaha Hi/Lo is AA23 double-suited. Other very playable hands include (but are not limited to): A234, AAxx, A2xx, A345, A36K, 2345, KQ23. Most winning Omaha Hi/Lo players are very careful about the number of A3xx hands they play. This hand is not nearly as good as it looks, and can often lead to several lost bets after making the second-nut low.

It is important to note the importance of the ace in Omaha Hi/Lo. An ace works as the best card on both ends of the pot. It is the key card in making a nut low, and is also a very important card to have in the high side of the pot for its value as a kicker. Some very famous poker players (Scotty Nguyen for example) have a theory that no Omaha Hi/Lo hand is playable unless it has an ace. Obviously this strategy is a little extreme. But for new players, it may be wise to develop a habit of folding most hands that do not contain an ace.

Position is just as important in Omaha Hi/Lo as it is in Texas hold'em. This means that borderline hands (such as JJ24) should only be played in late position in an un-raised pot.
Flop Tips

Most of the time, it is a poor decision for a player to draw to a low after the flop unless they already have the best four to a low. For example, after a flop of A5K, one should not draw for the low unless they are holding 23xx in the pocket. A lot of the profit in playing Omaha Hi/Lo comes from winning chips off of weak players who draw to non-nut lows. Drawing to a low that isn't the nut-low is almost a guaranteed way to lose in Omaha Hi/Lo.

Another common losing mistake in Omaha Hi/Lo is drawing to a running low. For example, most players holding A2xx enter the pot expecting to make the nut-low. However, if the flop comes 8KQ, these players are now reliant on completing a running low-draw just to win half of the pot. These players should fold to a bet. It is a bad move to purposefully draw to two cards for a low.
Being Quartered

Being "quartered" is a very key concept in Omaha Hi/Lo. Let's look a hand example of where a player only wins a quarter of the pot:

Ah3hKs9s
Player #1
Ac3cTd8d
Player #2
7d4c2hKsJh
Board


Notice that both players have used their ace-threes to make the nut-low. This means the low-pot is split between the two players. However, on the high side, Player #1 has a pair of kings which beats Player #2's ace high.

Therefore, Player #1 gets 50% of the pot for making the best hi hand, as well as an additional 25% of the pot for his share of the low pot. Player #1 has "quartered" Player #2 by winning 75% of the pot. Quartering opponents is a very important ingredient in becoming a winning Omaha Hi/Lo player.

Of even more importance is the ability to keep the pot small when you realize that you may be quartered. If you are Player #2 in this example, you need to understand that you may stand to only win 25% of the pot. Thus, when Player #1 bets, do not raise and reraise with your nut-low. Just call.

Next Article: Tournaments Overview
 


FanDuel - WFBC
PokerTips Newsletter Sign-Up